Baja 1000 2010 hors-d'œuvre - Countdown to the race

1061.69 mile for the Trophy Truck showdown between the McMillins and Jesse James for the 2010 desert series trophy Truck crown and championship. On the silt-laden, rock-strewn trails of Baja, it’s hard to imagine a more formidable field of contenders in SCORE Trophy-Truck than this year’s magnificent field of hopeful Baja champions. Statistically, 14 drivers in this year’s field have combined to win 81 of the 97 total races in the 16-plus-year history of the class, including 12 of the 16 former season point championships and 11 of the 16 race winners in the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 in SCORE Trophy-Truck. Icing on the desert cake is that drivers for the last seven consecutive SCORE Trophy-Truck winners in this race are entered again this year.

After an eighth-place finish in the season-opening SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge (in a used SCORE Trophy-Truck he purchased from McMillin Racing) Jones, won the ensuing MasterCraft Safety Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 – but not before he had already sold the truck to fellow SCORE racer Bryce Menzies. Jones followed that winning effort with a solid race in the Tecate SCORE Baja 500 – in which he led nearly 300 of the 432.5 miles before suffering a transmission failure – only to sell that new truck.